NHS Connecting for Health ceased to exist on 31st March 2013. This website is therefore not being updated. For up to date information about systems and services visit the Health and Social Care Information Centre website at www.hscic.gov.uk/systems

You are here: Home Services & Applications Data Standards NHS Classifications Service Helpdesk and advice Clinical Coding toolbox

Clinical Coding toolbox

If you want to further your coding knowledge and professional development then you’ve come to the right place, all the information you need is in the toolbox.

WELCOME to the clinical coder's toolbox.

To ensure the quality of coded clinical data is at its best all clinical coders in the NHS acute sector that use ICD-10 and OPCS-4 must have:

  • received the appropriate training,
  • attended a clinical coding foundation course,
  • completed the core curriculum laid out below, and
  • be using the correct coding tools.

Tools in the box - core curriculum for coders

All clinical coders must have completed the following requirements whether their role is a clinical coder, Clinical Coding TrainerClinical Coding Auditor or Clinical Coding Manager. Without these basic principles career progression will be limited and the quality of coded clinical data at risk of being below par. Evidence from the Audit Commissions work to audit clinical coding in the NHS has proved a link between investment in training and accurate data standards.

The links below will take you to the information on the core curriculum as the basis of their work. These are the core needs regardless of whether your intention is to then develop your career professionally to go on to become a Clinical Coding TrainerClinical Coding Auditor or Clinical Coding Manager.

Clinical coding tools

Below are listed the basic tools of the coding trade essential to the job in addition to our top tips:

  • It's impossible to code without the all important OPCS-4 and ICD-10 books. OPCS-4 Tabular List and Alphabetical Index. ICD-10 Volumes 1-3: 2012 ICD Edition and until further notice.

Training materials

Training manuals are issued free to those attending NHS Classifications Service authorised training courses:

  • Clinical Coding Instruction Manual ICD-10 and OPCS-4.
  • Basic Anatomy and Physiology Instruction Manual.
  • Four-step coding process (e-learning module).
  • Clinical Coding Instruction Manual for Mental Health.

Read more about the manuals.

Supporting information

  • The NHS Classifications Service are responsible for the development, authouring and annual review cycle of OPCS-4
  • The development of SNOMED CT as the system being built into the electronic care record
  • Data Protection Act 1988.

Further tools

Below are links to other relevant external websites.